Organizing Committee

General Chairs

Michele Nogueira is Professor of Computer Science at Federal University of Paraná, where she has been since 2010. Currently, she spends her sabbatical year as visiting faculty at Carnegie Mellon University, USA. She received her doctorate in Computer Science from the University Pierre et Marie Curie – Sorbonne Universités, Laboratoire d’Informatique de Paris VI (LIP6) in 2009. Her research interests include wireless networks, security and dependability. She has worked on providing resilience to self-organized, cognitive and wireless networks by adaptive and opportunistic approaches. Dr. Nogueira was one of the pioneers in addressing survivability issues in self-organized wireless networks, being the works “A Survey of Survivability in Mobile Ad Hoc Networks” and “An Architecture for Survivable Mesh Networking” her prominent scientific contributions. She is also Associate Technical Editor for the IEEE Communications Magazine and the Journal of Network and Systems Management.


Xin Wang received her Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering from Columbia University, New York, NY. She is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering of the State University of New York at Stony Brook, Stony Brook, NY. Before joining Stony Brook, she was a Member of Technical Staff in the area of mobile and wireless networking at Bell Labs Research, Lucent Technologies, New Jersey, and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering of the State University of New York at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY. Her research interests include algorithm and protocol design in wireless networks and communications, mobile and distributed computing, as well as networked sensing and detection. She has served in executive committee and technical committee of numerous conferences and funding review panels, and serves as the associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing. Dr. Wang achieved the NSF career award in 2005, and ONR challenge award in 2010.

Steering Committee

Jon Crowcroft, University of Cambridge
Xiaoming Fu, University of Goettingen
Rittwik Jana AT&T Labs Research
Marco Gruteser, Rutgers University
Joerg Ott, Helsinki University of Technology
Katherine Guo, Bell Labs Research
Stefano Secci, LIP6-UPMC

Program Committee

Fulvio Risso, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Giacomo Verticale, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Kaushik Chowdhury, Northeastern University, USA
Lito Kriara, Disney Research Zurich
Lixia Zhang, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Marco Fiore, CNR-IEIIT, Italy
Michele Nogueira, UFPR, Brazil (Co-chair)
Peter Steenkiste Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Razvan Stanica INSA Lyon, France
Sahar Hoteit, Centrale-Supelec, France
Stefano Secci, UPMC-LIP6, France
Toru Hasegawa, Osaka University, Japan
Xin Wang, Stony Brook University, USA (Co-chair)
Xu Chen, University of Goettingen, Germany
Yong Cui, Tsinghua University, China